Coffee Bluff Marina

Coffee Bluff Marina always takes me by surprise. The drive from City Hall to the marina is a tour of Savannah’s growth and development. I pass dozens of neighborhoods and businesses. And then the road comes to an end, and right there tucked into Savannah’s southside is this pristine stretch of untouched river and marsh. Coffee Bluff Marina reminds me of how fortunate we are to live in coastal Georgia and have access to so many natural amenities. It’s just plain beautiful out there.

I visited recently to see the area as it stands now and to chat with the operator, Captain Ray Golden, about the City of Savannah’s plans for improvement.

The City of Savannah purchased the marina to preserve public access and prevent over-development. Draft plans for updating and improving the marina were recently completed. Everyone has the opportunity to review and comment on the plans at a public drop-in meeting, between 5 p.m. and 7 p.m. on Tuesday, January 31, at the Crusader Neighborhood Center, 81 Coffee Bluff Villa Road. You can drop in any time during the meeting to see the plans, speak with City officials and provide your input.

I hope everyone takes advantage of this public review and comment period. And I hope everyone takes a visit out to Coffee Bluff Marina, now and in the future after improvements take shape. Like River Street or the historic district, Coffee Bluff is another place like none other, uniquely and distinctly Savannah.

About Saja

I work in the City of Savannah Public Information Office. I live in Savannah with my husband and daughter. As a local government communicator, my goal is to promote better discourse between the organization I work for and the community I serve.
This entry was posted in Parks & Playgrounds and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

